top of page
Search

Happy World Spay Day!

Updated: Mar 1, 2020

Did you know February 25th was a pet holiday?! If you don't know, now you know!

World spay day is a day that comes yearly on the 4th Tuesday in February. The point of the day is to:

  • make a difference in the number of over population of animals around the world

  • to decrease the number of killing in shelters

  • decrease the general population of homeless pets world wide though education

  • It is also a day to educate people on the importance and benefits of spaying/neutering their pets.

You might be thinking

"I already know fixing my pet is important Ayana so why are you telling me this?"

Well, though it is important for pet parents to know this information it is also important for the general public to know this information! Stats like,

approximately 1.5 million shelter animals are euthanized

yearly, and among that breeds like Border Collies, Chihuahuas, and Labrador Retrievers are some of the most euthanized breeds because of the over breeding of these breed.

A lot of people would not know facts like these so that is one reason why World Spay Day is so important. Also facts like it has been scientifically proven that pets that get spayed tend to live longer because fixing them reduces the risk of obtaining certain cancers.

I also wanted you to know mine and Sundaes crazy story that would have been prevented had she been spayed sooner.

____________

In 2018 I was finishing up an internship in Baltimore, Maryland and my fur baby Sundae was in North Carolina. During my last 2 weeks in Maryland Sundae went missing! (

!) After the dramatics of searching and crying over her I received a call from a man who informed me that he had actually

PAID for MY dog from some STRANGER!

Talking to the man we arranged a time to meet and he gave me my dog, but during our interactions he told me he had actually planned to mate her to sale her puppies. On top of that she was ALREADY PREGNANT! The point of this brief story is to show that people are breeding any and everything they can get their hands on for the sake of money and if pets are spayed things like this can't happen so easily and will help with the pet population. Yes, some of the blame does fall on me because I had not done my due diligence by getting my pet spayed before leaving her but somethings you just don't expect to happen. This unexpected pregnancy cost me about $2000, and resulted in 10 beautiful puppies that I had to try to find great homes for.

This particular story has a happy ending but that isn't always the case. In fact if you can't tell by the numbers or information up top most cases like mine do not get happy endings.

The moral of today's blog is to raise awareness for the over population of pets and that resulting in millions of animals being euthanized yearly. I hope that I did my job in raising some awareness with you and I hope that you can take this information and share it with others!

As always thank you for reading this blog and I hope that you and your pet stay safe and happy together for ever.

XOXO,

~The A' Word

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page